RSS Feed

Darth Vader

While preparing for my niece’s birthday, we found out her cousin was going to have a birthday, on the same day as Audrey’s party. So that he didn’t feel left out, I made him a cake too. I found out he liked Darth Vader. So, I stacked 2 cakes, and baked a cake in an aluminum bowl, and carved away! I ended up making Darth’s head.  Now, instead of starting with white fondant and dying it black, this time I made my marshmallow fondant, but I added cocoa powder. So now I had dark brown fondant, that I had to dye black. A LOT easier going from brown to black, then white to black. At the time, to make it shiny, I rubbed it with shortening. I’ve since been reading and have found that I need to invest in a portable clothing steamer. Apparently that is what the professionals use to make fondant “patent leather” shiny!

About orelandmom

Welcome! My name is Linda. I have a 19 yr old son, and a 18 yr old step-son. I have a wonderful husband, we were married in 2006. As a hobby I love to bake and decorate cakes. It started as I wanted to give my son, then 5 years old a cake that he would remember, but at the time I was a single mother, and didn't have the money to buy a fancy cake, so I made it! I've been hooked ever since. Enjoy my journey as I bake and decorate, I know I have!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

