RSS Feed

My First Cake

I started really having an interest in decorating cakes probably a little more than 10 years ago. It was for my son’s 5th birthday, I really wanted to do something special for him. He loved Jeff Gordon, so I headed to AC Moore and bought a car cake pan. I knew normal food coloring wouldn’t tint the icing very well, I knew the craft store had to have something…I discovered the icing dyes! That went into the cart, along with a bag, and tips.

I came home and went to work. I asked a friend of mine for a toy Gordon car, and that was my model. I then freehand, piped out the color scheme on the car. I used the star tip and made a million little stars on the cake. I never realized how the icing dye  stains…your mouth! All of us had colorful mouths! Unfortunately, I do not have a picture of this cake. But atlas, it was the starting point of a sweet relationship that would slowly develop over the years!

About Anonymous

just trying to get through life as I know it. Everyone has their own story, their own challenges...these are mine.

Leave a Reply

