RSS Feed

Birthday Cakes

Posted on

From my wedding on, I started making everyone’s birthday cakes from scratch. Luckily for me, my entire family loves chocolate! So, it was a chocolate cake, with chocolate icing. My hubby and kids look forward to their cakes. I’ve varied here and there with fillings and toppings. My hubby just likes a plain chocolate cake with chocolate icing. My boys like the chocolate cake with my berry drizzle. I purchase fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries, put them in a pot with sugar and a little bit of water…it’s heaven over vanilla ice cream!

My main problem now is I have 2 birthdays in August, that are 2 weeks apart, the 1st cake is barely finished, when the 2nd birthday comes around!

The one in the picture here I did for a friend’s birthday. This is chocolate with chocolate, but then I drizzled milk, dark, and white chocolate on it.

I always do the same cake for birthdays. So recently, my son’s girlfriend was celebrating a birthday, I decided to do something different. Something I’ve never made, something I’ve never even tasted…a Red Velvet cake. Oh the pressure! I read up on it, and there were so many people that have problems making it! The center would fall in, it would be too dry, or just not red enough. The recipe calls for 2 ounces of red food coloring. I don’t know if you realize how much 2 ounces is?!? I’ve never seen so much food coloring go into one thing!  So, I baked the recipe I finally decided on, now for the icing…I could go traditional, which is a white icing, or I could go modern~ a cream cheese icing. I am partial to cream cheese, so, I went the modern route. I was not disappointed! I crumbled part of the cake up and decorated the cake with the crumbs to give it the velvet look, then edged it with chocolate. Now my step son wants this cake for his birthday, instead of my chocolate cake!

About Anonymous

just trying to get through life as I know it. Everyone has their own story, their own challenges...these are mine.

Leave a Reply

