RSS Feed

Fancy Schmancy

Posted on

Well, now that I’ve had all of this practice, I’ve decided to move up on the ladder of cake decorating! My sister-in-law was getting ready to adopt. This baby was 10 years in the making, and was ready to be spoiled. Not just by her new parents, but everyone! They ended up having 2 baby showers for her, one for friends, and one for family. I made the cakes for both of them. The first shower was the family shower. I made the baby booties and shoe laces out of fondant and dusted them with shimmer dust. I rolled and dusted each pearl that goes around the bottom of the 2nd tier. I put lotus flowers on the cake because of their meaning, it seemed appropriate for our precious little girl.

The lotus flower is one of the most ancient and deepest symbols of our planet. The lotus flower grows in muddy water and rises above the surface to bloom with remarkable beauty. At night the flower closes and sinks underwater, at dawn it rises and opens again. Untouched by the impurity, lotus symbolizes the purity of heart and mind.

Transporting this was scary to say the least! The base it’s sitting on is a turntable. Also, lean it too far one direction, and it’s going to slide! Tom was away, so I had Joel help me move it. I couldn’t have it on his lap, for fear he’d lean it towards him and crush a flower. I couldn’t sit it anywhere in the car…there’s no flat surface, except in the trunk!

So, in the trunk it went. I had Joel sitting on one seat, and I folded down the other, so that he could lean into the trunk and balance the cake. Ok that part is figured out, now, what way am I going to take to get to the house on where the shower is being held??!? They were in the process of paving Rt 309 (who am I kidding, they STILL are!) So I ended up going up Bethlehem Pike. Driving like granny, going 10 miles under the speed limit and braking a mile before the red light! It arrived at there with one flower broken off. Thank GOD I remembered the buttercream icing! It was as good as new in no time!

The friends shower cake was also a 2 tiered cake. Again, I made the booties and each pearl out of fondant. This one had daises and a baby blanket on top, and of course, baby footprints on the cake!

About Anonymous

just trying to get through life as I know it. Everyone has their own story, their own challenges...these are mine.

Leave a Reply

