RSS Feed

Audrey’s First Birthday Cake

Remember that niece I had made those 2 baby shower cakes for, well, now it was time for her first birthday! Oooh was I excited! They wanted an Elmo themed cake. They had no clue what was about to hit them! I recently had purchased a 3 tiered cake stand…that was to be my platform. Everyone knows that the baby gets their own cake to smash up, then the adults get another cake…right??!? So, let’s start with Audrey’s cake…I didn’t want to put fondant on it, it would’ve been too hard for Audrey to get a piece. So, this was only covered in buttercream icing. I had molded a small Elmo out of fondant as the cake topper. In front of Elmo,  is an alligator, molded out of fondant. See, since she was adopted out of Florida, her nickname is Gator. (I had to put SOMETHING on there!) Then on the face of the cake, I made a Sesame Street sign with the number 1 on it, with her name. Baby’s cake done. Now for the adult cake!

I wanted this to “wow” everyone. So I researched, and researched, and decided to make Elmo out of rice krispie treats, jumping out of the cake. The cake itself was done in Florida Gator colors, orange and blue (again another personal touch) I did it in a harlequin design, then had the cake look like it was opened up and Elmo coming out of the middle of it. Elmo was probably 9 inches tall, and the cake he “disturbed” was teal. This was a challenge to have his arms stay up. Looking back, I probably would have done a couple of things differently with how I structured it, but hey, live and learn, right?

Ok, now I had a third tier empty…what to do?? There wasn’t going to be many at the party, so no sense in making another cake, right? So, I decorated it with fondant. I first covered the base with blue fondant. I made ABC blocks out of rice krispy treats covered in fondant, that spelled out Audrey’s name. On the ABC blocks, I made Cookie Monster, Zoe, Big Bird, and Oscar the Grouch out of fondant. I also made tiles out of fondant,  piped on there Happy Birthday, and stood them up. Now you can see why I’m so excited about her 2nd birthday coming up! By the way she also has a baby sister that will be one in August…Can’t wait to plan that one, Lemon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Anonymous

just trying to get through life as I know it. Everyone has their own story, their own challenges...these are mine.

One response »

  1. Joyce Mulhern Meers

    All my comment could possibly be is WOW!!!! But then…. I KNOW your GOOD!!!..xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

