RSS Feed

Filling Recipes

Posted on

I had a couple of people ask me about the fillings I used in the past 2 cakes. The fact that I mentioned that they were homemade, but I didn’t divulge my recipes. When I find something as delicious as this, I can’t keep it to myself, I will gladly share the recipes that I found! In order to make either the Oreo filling or the Lemon Mousse filling, you must start out with a basic Butter Cream recipe. Here’s the one I used:

 

The basic recipe
Buttercream Filling

  • 1 lb powered sugar
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 sticks butter, cut into 1/2 in slices (room temperature)
  • 1/2 c shortening (I didn’t use this much, I put the shortening in about 1 tbsp at a time, and constantly tasted it. Reason being, the first batch I made, I used the full 1/2 c and it tasted like shortening…yuck! I probably used closer to 1/4 c)
  1. Using the whisk attachment on your electric mixer, mix the powdered sugar, salt, vanilla, and milk at low speed until smooth.
  2. Add butter, one slice at a time, until incorporated
  3. Add shortening, (one tbsp at a time…constantly TASTE IT!) whip at the highest speed 10-12 minutes, until volume increases by at least 50%

 

Cookies & Cream Filling
To the basic recipe, you add:

1 c Oreo crumbs, or more to taste ( I think I added about 2 cups)

 

Whipped Lemon Mousse
To the basic recipe, you add:

3/4 c Lemon Curd

To make Lemon Curd:

  • 1/3 c granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 c fresh lemon juice
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 tbs plus 2 tsp butter, melted
  1. In a microwave-safe bowl, whisk together the sugar and egg until smooth.
  2. Stir in lemon juice, zest, and butter.
  3. Cook for 1 minute intervals on high, stirring after each minute until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon.
  4. Cover the curd with cling film placed directly on the surface of the curd and refrigerate until set.

 

There ya go! They are the 2 delicious recipes I used for those cakes! Also, for more recipes, here’s the website I got those recipes from…Enjoy!!!

About Anonymous

just trying to get through life as I know it. Everyone has their own story, their own challenges...these are mine.

Leave a Reply

