RSS Feed

My Dilemma

Posted on

Up until this point, my cakes have been “gifts”. Which for family members, I do not mind doing this. But I am getting more and more people asking me to make cakes for them. But I absolutely hate bringing up the subject of money (I need to work on this!) and I didn’t realize as I’m sure the “normal” public doesn’t realize how much fondant cakes cost. I looked this up the other day out of curiosity, and on the insistence of my son, Joel. Here’s what I learned. For a cake iced with Buttercream, depending on the design, they can go for $2.50 – $4.50 per serving (an example of this type of cake would be the christening cake that’s on here.) For a cake covered in Fondant, again depending on design, they can go for $3.50 – $5.50 a serving. That would be pretty much every other cake on my blog. Now here’s where reality kicks in. The wedding cake I did was to feed approximately 200. Considering the candy shells that were all hand made, I would have to go to the top of the scale with this. So, technically, this cake would have cost $1,100. Let me give you more realistic examples. The baby shower cakes, both had fondant booties, and fondant decorations, these would have been $90 each. The christening cake was done in buttercream, this would have been approximately $80.

I love to do this, I love to give them to people, I love to see the look on people’s faces when they first see it, first take a bite. If people are anything like me, I’m cheap, and I would NEVER pay this much for a cake. That is exactly why I started making these cakes. Now you see my dilemma. I hate talking money to anyone, but the more and more I make cakes, I think I need to “grow a pair” and start giving out quotes, and if it is going to cost me from making a cake, then I guess, I just won’t make that cake.

Here’s to me learning how to speak up, and charge people for my cakes. Wish me luck!

About Anonymous

just trying to get through life as I know it. Everyone has their own story, their own challenges...these are mine.

One response »

  1. that a girl you!!! guess you missed ‘my morning Joe’ this morning about knowing your worth. Can’t pay the Peco bill with thanks!!!! Doing a great job

    Reply

Leave a Reply

